(Note: to be able to use Work Orders you need to have activated the Work Order module by going to Your Profile > Billing and Admin > Setup Account and ticking the Enable Work Order check box.)
This assumes you have started receiving finished goods against a Work Order and you're ready to start wrapping it up.
If a Work Order is either in In Process - Partially Completed or Completed state a user may Close the Work Order. That action states that no more Finished Goods will be received from the Work Order. In case the status of the Work Order is In Process - Partially Completed, the Close Work Oder dialog includes two options.
The 1st option will automatically Receive all remaining Finished Goods and close the Work Order. The 2nd option will not receive any more Finished Goods and will just close the Work Order.
- Closing the Work Order without receiving the remaining Finished Goods will also return back to the inventory location those components that are still in the virtual Work-In-Process inventory location. This means that the quantity of the Components will increase in the inventory location of the Work Order according to the remaining quantity of the Finished Good and the bill of materials of the Finished Good.
This completes the basic Work Order cycle. Note there are additional functionalities with regards to the Work Order workflow.